Home | Which of the 16 personalities archetypes are you?

Hey everyone, I’m Erik Thor, an expert on using personality psychology for flow and personal development.

Which of the 16 personalities archetypes are you?

In my latest exploration, I delve into a fascinating blend of psychology and mythology, examining how the 16 personality types of the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator can be represented as distinct fantasy archetypes. This intriguing concept bridges the gap between our deeply ingrained human stories and the modern understanding of personality psychology.

What Are Archetypes?

Archetypes are universal, archaic symbols and images that derive from the collective unconscious, as conceptualized by Carl Jung. They are the psychic counterpart of instinct. These archetypes have been a part of human storytelling for millennia, shaping our narratives and character constructs across various cultures and eras. They are instantly recognizable, echoing through our shared human experience and language.

The 16 Archetypes: A Journey Through Personality and Myth

In this exploration, I propose not just one, but four archetypes for each of the Myers-Briggs personality types, allowing for a broader and more nuanced interpretation. Each archetype embodies the core traits and tendencies of the personality types, creating a unique narrative that resonates with each individual’s experience.

  1. iNtuitive Perceiving types – The Rebel: Starting with the intuitive and perceiving types (NP), the Rebel archetype emerges as a symbol of non-conformity, innovation, and freedom. This archetype challenges the status quo, representing those who pave their own path and stand firm in their unique perspectives.
  2. Feeling Perceiving Types – The Bard: For the feeling and perceiving types (FP), The Bard is a fitting archetype. It embodies self-expression, empathy, and inspiration, capturing the essence of those who convey their deepest emotions and ideas through art, music, and culture.
  3. Introverted Intuitives – The Sage: The Sage archetype is a profound representation of introverted intuitives. It symbolizes wisdom, insight, and introspection, reflecting the inward journey and the pursuit of deeper truths.
  4. Introverted Feeling – The Healer: This archetype embodies compassion, understanding, and harmony. Representing introspection and reflection, The Healer resonates with those who are introverted and feeling, focusing on resolving personal struggles through self-reflection and counseling.
  5. Extroverted Intuition – The Inventor: For the extroverted and intuitive types, The Inventor archetype is fitting. This symbolizes new ideas, curiosity, and progressiveness, embodying the ingenious and curious nature of these individuals.
  6. Feeling and Judging – The Knight: Representing honor, integrity, and ethics, The Knight is an archetype for feeling and judging types. This embodies doing the right thing, often at personal cost, for the greater good of the group or society.
  7. Intuition and Judging – The Magician: Vision, originality, and the ability to foresee the future define The Magician. This archetype suits intuitive and judging types, known for their planning skills and ability to solve problems in original ways.
  8. Extroverted Feeling – The Every Person: The Every Person archetype is adaptable and relatable, capable of communicating and connecting authentically with others. This fits extroverted and feeling types, who are adept at playing various roles in society.
  9. Sensing and Judging – The Protector: The Protector represents stability, reliability, and structure, embodying the law and order of society. This archetype is apt for sensing and judging types.
  10. Introverted Sensing – The Builder: The Builder, representing craftsmanship, mastery, and precision, is ideal for introverted and sensing types. They are known for their ability to consistently create and master their craft.
  11. Sensing and Perceiving – The Fighter: The Fighter archetype symbolizes resilience, strength, and endurance. Sensing and perceiving types embody this through their physical resilience and toughness.
  12. Extroverted Sensing – The Explorer/Adventurer: This archetype represents adventure, experience, and enjoyment of life in the present. It suits extroverted and sensing types, known for their adventurous spirit.
  13. Introverted Thinking – The Scientist: Embodying critical thinking, precision, and certainty, The Scientist is a fitting archetype for introverted and thinking types, known for their analytical and methodical approach.
  14. Extroverted Thinking – The Pirate: Ambition, resourcefulness, and boldness define The Pirate. This archetype resonates with extroverted and thinking types, who are known for their ambitious and daring nature.
  15. Thinking and Judging – The Ruler: The Ruler represents power, control, and judgment, fitting for thinking and judging types. They are known for their leadership and ability to make decisive judgments.
  16. Thinking and Perceiving – The Trader: Competitive, persuasive, and versatile, The Trader is ideal for thinking and perceiving types. They excel in seeing both sides of an issue and are adept at negotiation and achievement-oriented tasks.

In this exploration, we see how each Myers-Briggs personality type can connect with a unique fantasy archetype. It’s not just about categorizing individuals but about understanding the deeper narrative threads that run through our personalities.

As you reflect on these archetypes, consider which resonates with you the most. Do you see yourself as the introspective Healer, the visionary Inventor, the disciplined Knight, or perhaps another archetype entirely? This journey through archetypes offers a new lens through which to view ourselves and understand our place in the world.


Get your own personalized report

Unlock a deeper understanding of yourself with our comprehensive In-Depth Personal Profile. This 30-35 page report offers unique insights into your personality, providing tailored advice for your career, well-being, and personal growth. It’s more than just a report; it’s a journey to self-discovery and personal development.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x